“As a child, I never heard one woman say to me, ‘I love my body’. Not my mother, my elder sister, my best friend. No one woman has ever said, ‘I am so proud of my body.’ So I make sure to say it to Mia, because a positive physical outlook has to start at an early age.” – Kate Winslet

A friend of mine recently shared this quote with me, and it really hit close to home. As I said to her, as children, especially as girls, our mothers are the mirror into which we look at ourselves and form our self image, and if that mirror is cracked, then our view of ourselves will share the same scars. I know I’ve picked up so many of my mothers’ own critiques and only lately, now that I’ve started to see my mother as human have I finally started to try to shed some of those inherited insecurities. But I hope that despite all of my own humanity, that one day if I have kids (girls or boys), I will always try to speak of myself in a positive, confident voice. If finding that voice now for myself isn’t enough motivation, then perhaps the idea of my future children might serve as a good reason to work on this, starting now. It’s never too late to learn to love yourself.

“As a child, I …

Tagged , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on ““As a child, I …

  1. Hi! I found your blog this morning and have enjoyed reading through your recent entries! The Kate Winslet quote you posted yesterday hit close to home for me as well. I hope you don’t mind, but I referenced your blog in my most recent post on body image! Thanks for the inspiration and insight!

    • Thanks for reading! And of course I don’t mind! The more people that are talking about these things, the better. I’m glad I could inspire your post. Thanks again!!

Tell Me What You Think...

