Battle

Battle

This resonated with me while scrolling through pictures of extremely fit girls on Pinterest. I fluctuate so often, but this reminds me that its OKAY. I’ve fought this battle before, and I’m fighting it again, this time a little stronger and a little wiser than before. A good friend reminds me time and time again that its not a cycle, because that implies that I’m not improving and not going anywhere new. Its an upward-trending line… sure, it has its ups and downs, but in general, I’m moving up, getting stronger with every failure and learning so much along the way.

I am stronger than I think I am. And stronger than yesterday.

Tagged , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Battle

  1. Cat says:

    I really needed to read this today. Thank you for posting. For some reason, I tend to label myself as a failure first – rather than realizing that it’s sometimes several battles, several rounds of learning, and coming back stronger as before, as you said. I also will tend to think that I’m too old to get started, or that I started too late, so may as well give up – which is silly! I like this ‘multiple battles’ concept and will bookmark for future reference when I need the reminder 🙂

    • Never too old, never too late! I tend to do the same… label myself as a failure, then have a hard time having positive self talk after that. The other day I was talking to someone about my almost vegan day, and I said, “but I had a yogurt, so I failed” and before I could finish my sentence, they said, “You didn’t fail! Come on. Its okay!” and I realized… oh yeah… Having a yogurt on a day that was otherwise entirely vegan doesn’t make me a failure! It just means I had a yogurt! Putting a label on ourselves, on what we do, on our accomplishments is just setting ourselves up (mentally) to either fit in this very rigid understanding of what we want to be, or fall outside of it, and more often than not, its the latter. Instead of compartmentalizing our actions into labels, whether its “vegan”,”fit”, “success”, or “failure”, we should just learn to be fluid and open to the natural ups and downs of our lives, not defining ourselves by any “failed” battle but by the overal path that we choose to follow.

Tell Me What You Think...

