Mid-Day Mind Munchies and Yoga

Sometimes I wonder if I think about food too much. Am I alone here? Or does anyone else ever feel like they just obsess over food all day, every day. I plan my whole day around my food and exercise, and I plan my food and exercise around each other, and its not because I’m some inspiring, intense, die-hard foodie or fitness goddess. I’m not. At all. I’m the laziest sonofabitch you’ll ever meet, and (as you know if you’ve been reading my blog), I seem to love stuffing my face with food until I want to cry. It really should be pathetic.

But, alas, I somehow still get myself to exercise, and since food already takes up 90% of my brain space, I inevitably plan my exercising around my food and my life around my food.

I FUCKING LOVE FOOD. And I think everyone out there does too, but some people like to act like food doesn’t consume their thoughts, because they think it makes them look cool. Or strong. Or healthy. Or who knows. But don’t kid yourself… I can see riiiiight past it. Your brain is salivating.

Anyway… What I meant to say was… Here are some pictures of my food today!

Because, I love food, and I take pictures of food and I don’t care.

photo 1

Lunch salad, which I ate out of a huge bowl, because spinach takes up a lot of space, and its easier/more fun that way if you’re savage and happen to be eating alone like I am. It kind of feels like I’m the guy from Forgetting Sarah Marshall, eating an entire box of Lucky Charms out of a huge mixing bowl, like a boss:

Anyway… My salad consisted of spinach, chickpeas, corn, carrots, tomatoes, almonds, pine nuts, raisins, and for dressing, olive oil and balsamic vinegar.

photo 2

[This part needs to be read in a snobby British accent.] As the second course for todays prix-fixe menu, we have featured our house specialty, the Artesanal Dry-Farmed Herloom Beta-Carotene Puree with an H2O Reduction Sauce.

In other words… microwaved sweet potato.

Literally the most gourmet thing you’ll ever find in nature. It blows my balls off.

Sweet potato is what happened when God had a lot of liberating sex on Saturday night with Mr. God (or Mrs. God, since LadyGod could have very well been a lesbian. Who am I to make that kind of assumption…) and was feeling happy and overly generous to Her children on the 7th day, so She said, here, kids, take all my gold and my money and my secrets and run wild. So they partied hard, got really drunk, and passed out in the dirt and all the gold got stuck somewhere deep in the soil, and months later sweet potatoes popped up. So now you know some agricultural history. You’re welcome.

Later in the afternoon, I was feeling hungry (as if my enormous bath tub of salad wasn’t enough), so I made myself a smoothie much like this one, but with almond butter instead of peanut butter. After it was blended, I added a little more almond butter, and right now, as I’m drinking it, I keep finding little chunks of heaven amidst this delicious smoothie, and I’m patting myself on the back for having such a brilliant idea.

photo (20)

So far, so good. I actually didn’t eat oatmeal for breakfast, because my almond butter needed attention (I can already see that my goal to not finish this jar by the end of the week is going to be really difficult), so I ate an open-faced sandwich: whole wheat bread, almond butter, banana. Bomb dot com.

After watching a bunch of TED talks and killing all the ants I found in my room (don’t ask… I’m pissed), I did half an hour of yoga, following a Jillian Michaels’ video:

 

And now at the early hour of 4:49pm, I’m finally getting my day started. Its Sunday, don’t hate. I’m going to the movies, and I’m making my promise ahead of time – I will not eat anything from the concession stand. I’m bringing a bag of almonds and maybe a piece of fruit, if I get hungry (though this smoothie should keep me full for a while), and tonight I’m eating the rest of my salad (yeah… I forgot to mention, I couldn’t finish it) and maybe some plain soy yogurt with honey for dessert.

HOLD ME ACCOUNTABLE, okay!?

If all goes well, today will be another successful vegan day. Hooray!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Mid-Day Mind Munchies and Yoga

  1. Cat says:

    I’ve been feeling this way too! This is what I love about all the clean eating movements and websites out there – it makes me feel like I don’t have to give up my love of food, but rather, I can indulge and feed my muscles and my body without guilt! I made a fully paleo meal for myself and my boyfriend last night and got to be obsessed about food and cooking and eating – but didn’t feel guilty afterward. I got to “food out” over my summer squash dish that is supposed to be a “paleo pasta.” My boyfriend loved it and thought it was better than real pasta! It’s nice to feel like I can still “food out” on all the good foods out there. I can pig out on an off the graph salad or lamb burgers! It’s nice to not have to obsess over limiting bad foods, but rather, relishing all the good ones that feed muscle, fight fat, and make me feel mentally and physically strong.

    Check out http://paleomg.com – one of my faves. Have to just remind myself to get all excited about deliciously prepared vegetables and that all the almond butter/chocolate treats are just treats for once in a while 😛

  2. First of all… that site is awesome. She’s totally my style. New obsession. Thank you!

    Second, I LOVE spaghetti squash pasta! Knowing that it exists makes me feel like I never need to eat lame pasta again.

    Third, since what we’re after is a lifestyle change, food HAS to be loved, revered, enjoyed, HONORED… Otherwise change won’t happen! For those of us that love eating, we have to satisfy those cravings, slowly learning how to make little changes that still satisfy the cravings while preserving a little health along the way. It should be fun, and what could be more fun than eating? But now its eating cleaner and healthier, and ultimately it feels so much better that way.

Tell Me What You Think...

