The Easy Wednesday Lunch

Last Wednesday, I made a meal for the girls and I that involved more of the same ingredients I always use, because I refuse to feed them or myself anything unhealthy. I sometimes wonder if they think I don’t know how to cook because I always make the same things? Either way, maybe one day they’ll thank me…. or not. Whatever. #ungratefulchildren

I made a healthy veggie stir fry and some baked chicken breast, and since the little one loves peas, I steamed some frozen peas for us as well. The girls smothered their food in ketchup/barbecue sauce and I wanted to cringe a little bit, but I know when you’re a kid, thats the only way to make food taste good, I guess. And I’m not going to lie, I fucking love ketchup. But I didn’t eat any, because ew… high fructose corn syrup? No thanks. Also, thats just ew in general when its not on a burger.

Anyway, I digress… from whatever point I wasn’t even going to make. Because I had nothing real to say.

Host mom left us a small cantaloupe, so I cut that up and we ate it as dessert. It was so sweet, so juicy, and so refreshing on that somewhat warm afternoon.

IMG_2797

Eggplant, mushrooms, carrots, leeks, onions, garlic, sauteed in a big wok with just a little bit of olive oil, salt, pepper, and chili flakes for taste.

IMG_2802

Makes my mouth water just looking at it. How does this shit come from nature!? Nothing human-made can even come close… I don’t even know why we bother.

Lessons learned? Ummm, nothing that’s really going to knock your socks off. Eating healthy is easy. Get over your laziness and just do it.

Tagged , , , , , , ,

Tell Me What You Think...

