Tuna Discovery

Canned tuna.

My first thoughts are usually, “ew, wtf”, mostly because I’ve always associated it with tuna salad, which I hate. Just the smell of it makes me want to vom. But I guess reading so many bodybuilding blogs has incepted the idea of canned tuna into my brain, because I actually bought some to try the other day. With my own money, I paid for canned tuna. Who am I?

** I should mention that as an au pair, my food is technically taken care of by my host family, unless I go out to eat with friends, in which case I use my weekly allowance to treat myself to a night out. Otherwise, any food that I eat at home should be fully provided by my family, WHICH IT IS, but before I get too into it, I just want to say that I often feel like certain key parts of my diet are missing and I haven’t had the courage to really ask for them yet, so I’ve resorted to using my allowance towards buying my own groceries and hiding them in my room, like a little fucking squirrel. I’ll talk more about this later. But either way, for the sake of this post, I paid for tuna, and a bunch of other things, featured below. **

Anyways, back to canned tuna. I usually hate that shit, but reading about bodybuilders and their love for canned tuna, I decided to give it a try because I figured they know something I don’t. Holy shit, they were right! One small can of tuna, about 100 grams (or about 3.5 ounces), has around 120 calories and 29 grams of protein.

Let me repeat that.

120 calories. 29 grams of protein.

For those of you that don’t know what that means, let me explain. My Sun Warrior protein powder has about 80 calories and 17 grams of protein in one serving. Four scrambled egg whites have about 70 calories and 14 grams of protein. A 3-ounce portion of ground beef has over 230 calories and around 21 grams of protein (not to mention tons of sodium, cholesterol, and saturated fat). Even a 4-ounce piece of salmon has more calories (165 ish) and less protein (24 grams) than a small can of tuna.

My mind was blown when I read the nutrition label, and without hesitating, I bought a can to test it out.

After a really tough work out this morning, I knew I needed to feed my muscles with plenty of protein, so I made a tasty little tuna-based lunch: canned tuna, 1/4 avocado, 1/2 tomato, olive oil, salt, pepper, all mixed together and served over two small slices of whole wheat toast (each one about 50 calories). Boom! It tasted fucking delicious and I could practically feel my muscles getting more defined with each bite.

Dig in to this little bitch… I have been converted!

Open-Faced Tuna Sandwich

Note: I collected some of my nutritional information from this handy site: www.fatsecret.com

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Tuna Discovery

  1. […] bringing our own healthy lunches instead of buying something expensive and less healthy. I brought tuna with avocado and tomatoes on a slice of whole wheat bread, an orange, and some almonds. My friend […]

Tell Me What You Think...

